Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2009, 08:04 AM   #1 
Luchi
New Member
 
Luchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Question Water Change Advice

I currently put my betta in a 2.5 gallon tank to give him a little more room while I'm visiting at home. Instead of gravel or rocks I have moon sand as a substrate. Since his tank is so small I'm aware that I need to do 100% water changes. Tomorrow is the last day of treatment for his finrot and I was wondering what is the best way to change the water when there is sand? Rocks were pretty easy but I'm not sure how to go about the water change with sand.

Advice will be GREATLY appreciated.
Thanks!!!
Luchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 09:43 PM   #2 
fishboy95
New Member
 
fishboy95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Indiana
My best guess would be to buy new sand every time you clean the tank. I use gravel so i'm not sure. Good luck
fishboy95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 09:47 PM   #3 
dramaqueen
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Texas
I'd say to use a gravel vac to clean the sand.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 10:24 PM   #4 
Scienceluvr8
Member
 
Scienceluvr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Texas
Yeah, your best bet would be to use a siphon
Scienceluvr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 06:08 AM   #5 
Luchi
New Member
 
Luchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: VA
Yay! Replies finally! Thanks guys for your help. :]
Luchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 03:09 PM   #6 
IonBaller07
Member
 
IonBaller07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Good luck, I use a siphon on my sand in my ten gallon, and the siphon sucks out a little bit of the sand everytime. Its not that noticible in my 10g but I think it might be in you 2.5. However when the sand does go through to the bucket it settles on the bottom. So when you put water back in I guess you can put the sand back too, it might trap more waist but its better than nothing. Or you could rinse the sand everytime, but that would suck.
IonBaller07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 05:24 PM   #7 
jeaninel
Member
 
jeaninel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northern California
I have sand in my 2.5 gallon betta tank. I just hover the siphon about 1/2" above the sand. A tiny bit sometimes get sucked up but I don't worry about replacing it. Since the tank is so small I cut about a 3 foot length of tubing from a spare Python extension I had and use that for a siphon. It takes about 5 seconds to drain half the tank.
jeaninel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 06:42 PM   #8 
Ilovemyshiny
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hesperia California
i used to just let the hot water keep over flowing and swish it around in the tank alot untill all the floaties were out and i felt like the sand was clean
Ilovemyshiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand, water change

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.