Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2013, 06:48 AM   #1 
MichelleA
Member
 
MichelleA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan
Substrate?

Planted a new tank with Flourite lastnight and this morning its still cloudy!? Do people usually cap this stuff with sand or seomthing? Would Sand have the same effect? Im at a loss here, that stuff was expensive and I was told if we rinse it it wont be a problem.. We even rinsed the crap out of it before we put it in the tank. I have a 5 gallon we need to set up today as well. Every time i do a water change i dont want to wait a day for the water to go back to normal. Is this safe for the fish?
MichelleA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 07:22 AM   #2 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
It will clear with time. May take as much as a week an a water change or two to become completely clear

Rick
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 10:52 AM   #3 
MichelleA
Member
 
MichelleA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan
Anyone have any answers to my other questions?
MichelleA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 01:04 PM   #4 
percyfyshshelley
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Alberta, Canada
I don't believe flourite is usually capped. It does make a mess even after rinsing. I have some in four of my tanks. Usually if I'm just setti ng up a tank, I run the filter full bast with some cheap filter floss for a few days, then change the floss to whatever I'm going to use to cycle the tank. The floss will be very dirty at this point. I do rinse the flourite A LOT before adding it to the tank. The cloudiness shouldn't hurt fish, and it does go away over time. Hope that helps!
percyfyshshelley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 01:23 PM   #5 
MichelleA
Member
 
MichelleA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Michigan
Yes thank you!
MichelleA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing substrate and substrate Q's Friendlyfishies Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 1 11-16-2012 09:44 AM
substrate... Friendlyfishies Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 10-15-2012 05:30 PM
Substrate Help? Turtle4353 Planted Betta Tanks 24 09-04-2012 06:04 PM
Substrate? Indefinitive Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 3 05-01-2009 11:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.