Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-21-2013, 01:36 PM   #1 
falvs17

Talking Brand New Betta!

Hello!

I am a newbie to this website and really to Betta Fish in general (last time I had a Betta was probably in 2003, 2004).

On Tuesday (August 20th) I bought a Female Crown Tail Betta from my local pet store. She is a tiny little fish, so I assume she isn't fully grown! I had first been feeding her with the pellets, but I noticed she would start to chew one, and then spit it out almost as if her mouth was too small. So, I went back out today and bought some flakes, and she still is spitting them out! I'm afraid she isn't eating! Any ideas on what to do?

I will be taking her to college with me on the 29th as well, so if anyone has some tips on college fish, please let me know!

Thank you!

This is her!
falvs17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 02:25 PM   #2 
ladybuglil123

Hiya! Welcome to the forum! As for her eating what I do with my betta is crush the flakes to smaller pieces so he can choose his portions. Plus it's normal for a new fish to avoid eating. I mean think, if you just got moved to a new house you'd explore it until satisfied. Betta's can last a week without eating so don't get too crazy.(;
ladybuglil123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:00 AM   #3 
equatics

Hi. I have a small female that I just got too, and she's doing the same thing with her pellets. The pellets (Omega One Betta Pellets) are maybe a tad smaller than her eye. I am worried that the pellets are too big for her to swallow. Good luck with your betta.
equatics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 12:40 AM   #4 
BatCakes