Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-22-2013, 10:52 AM   #1 
doryzx

Exclamation Help! Betta with Dropsy?

I've had my betta, whom I call fishie, for almost a year and a half now. I realise now that I haven't been taking the best care of her - no heater, no filter, no special tank, just weekly water changes and feeding. To make a feeble attempt at an excuse, I'm just a student in a boarding school with very little funds to invest in any equipment. But I have grown very attached to her over time...

I noticed the past few days that she wasn't eating; she's usually very excited when I feed her, but she completely ignores the food and hides in the corner next to the makeshift mini-cave I put in for her. And today I've noticed her scales pineconing. I have attached two images of her, but I don't think the quality is good enough for much to be seen. But please do take a look for me in any case.

I googled in a panic and found this illness called Dropsy, which apparently is mostly fatal, and involves organ failures and should have been detected earlier when she was not eating.

Please, is there anything I can do? I am planning to buy epsom salt tomorrow for salt baths, but is it better if I put the salt in the aquarium or make her have salt baths for a period of time?

Please, please help soon. I'm sorry I can't give you any parameters about the fish tank or anything...
Attached Images

doryzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 11:03 AM   #2 
doryzx

I have just realised that I have to answer these questions. Here are the answers to the best of my ability, but there is little more information I can give...

Housing
What size is your tank? N/A
What temperature is your tank? I live in a tropical country so about 26-30 degrees Celsius depending on the day
Does your tank have a filter? No...