Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-05-2009, 04:19 AM   #1 
Luxornv

Betta Fish with Fin Rot

Hello, I'd appreciate any help I could get in the following matter.

Some background about the general conditions the fish is kept in:
It's a betta fish currently kept in a 1 gallon fish bowl with no heater. I can't get a bigger tank right now since I would have no place to put it. I also do not have the resources to run a heater. The reason behind these limitations is that I am a college student and usually keep the fish in my dorm room (I won the fish in a game at school and I'm beginning to think this wasn't such a good idea for a prize considering the well being of the fish). Anyway, I try to feed it with betta pelets 2 or 3 times a day, and only about 2-3 pelets at a time. I have not been very good at keeping the water clean, but I am going to try changing a percentage of the water every few days from now on.

It had been a while since I had cleaned the bowl and changed the water, and I noticed the fins of the fish appeared to be a little stringy and ratty looking. I think the fish may have a (currently) minor case of fin rot. Right now it still seems fairly active and still eats, and I have not noticed any large chunks of the fins breaking off. I read some threads here other aritcles and they all suggest to try methylene blue, and malachite green to try to disinfect the water and promote healing. I'm planning on going to find some later this weekend or in the week. Another thing also said to bring the pH down to 6 to also help kill the bacteria. My question though is, what do I have to add to do that?