Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-06-2009, 09:22 PM   #1 
Zoro

Healthy-Sick Cycle

I got a new Betta about 3 weeks ago. He was a happy, healthy fish until two days after the first water change. He started having trouble swimming, then floated to the surface and rolled onto this his side. I wasn't overfeeding and used treated water.

This cycle has now happened three times...seems sick, change water, gets happier, then about 48 hours later back to swimming funny and floating to the surface. I have been reading about pH and know I could do better with the water balance, but why would a water change help, but only for a short time? Betta experts...help!

Zoro
Zoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:29 PM   #2 
Luxornv

I'm no expert, but how is the temperature in your tank? I know bettas prefer warm water, and if you have no heater, this could explain the cycle; you change the water and probably use warm water. As time passes, the water cools off and your fish becomes lethargic.
Luxornv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 09:50 PM   #3 
Zoro

Thanks for the reply. That might be true in the winter, but it's usually in the upper 70s in my place during the summer. I've ruled out temperature, swim bladder, I use salt with every water change...I just can't figure this one out.
Old 07-06-2009, 11:49 PM   #4 
dr2b

Have you tested your water to check the pH and what not?

And welcome to FishForum!!
dr2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 02:27 AM   #5 
BBgirl

dr2b your Flair looks a lot like my daughters Baby Tomato. Do his fins tip off in white too?

I don't know but I've quit using salt for the small water changes and only add it when I do a full change. Maybe it's too much salt for him at one time (for long periods).
Just a thought.
BBgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2009, 09:57 AM   #6 
dr2b