Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-30-2013, 04:28 PM   #1 
Watermelon

End of cycle questions

My tank is 5.5g and has finished fishless ammonia cycling after about 3 weeks (yay)! How much water do I change out before putting my betta in? I read conflicting info on different websites, i.e. 90%, 1/3 of the tank, etc. What is the proper amount?

Also, sorry if this is a dumb question I'm still new at this, but do I do water conditioner before I put the water in the tank or after I replace the water in the tank? And do I need to wait another day before putting my betta in, to check parameters or can he go in right away? Thanks!
Watermelon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 05:50 PM   #2 
spyder221

water conditioner before putting it in tank as chlorine will kill off the good bb also water change size depends on your nitrate levels but if there below 40 i would say 50% but someone with more experience will probly give u better answer basically just bring your nitrate levels as low as you can up to you to check and judge how much to change
spyder221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 05:56 PM   #3 
Watermelon

Thanks for the response. My nitrates are around 5-10ppm, so I'm thinking maybe on the 50% or less side?
Old 08-30-2013, 06:07 PM   #4 
spyder221

5 to 10 is fine just start your weekly water change from there and adjust accordingly for 5 to 10 atm id say a 20% change before adding fish just be sure to check ammonia and nitrite are definatly zero good luck im still cycling my tank cant wait to get my betta seen a lovely crowntail but he will be gone before i get mine ready