Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-30-2013, 09:13 PM   #1 
Tony2632

New baby betta owner

S'up guys!

I'm new to bettas, but not other fish. I have a baby betta named BabyFace from Petco set up in a 37 gallon, fully planted tank with driftwood and huge rocks. I also have other tank mates like glowlight tetras and neon tetras. I can't figure out what sex the betta is so here is a picture of it and the tank.
Attached Images

Tony2632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 09:17 PM   #2 
georga3261

The short fins make it look female, but I'm not entirely possitive...
georga3261 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 10:03 PM   #3 
dramaqueen
Banned

Welcome to the forum. Your tank and betta are beautiful.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2013, 01:01 AM   #4 
Chutney

I'm pretty sure you have a girl on your hands :). I had a baby betta that looked like yours with the stripes on the body. I have 3 friends who had the same thing happen with stripes being girls.
Chutney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 12:20 PM   #5 
JelloBetta

That is a beautiful baby betta, a little precious indeed.

I strongly believe that's a female. Though it could be a male.
JelloBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 08:13 AM   #6 
Tony2632

Thanks guys, She is super active and swims with the school of tetras sometimes. lol
Old 09-04-2013, 08:30 AM   #7 
lilnaugrim
Reference Team

Stress Stripes are actually camouflage for when they're in the wild, it's not indicative to sex.

It is a female because I can see the ovaries which is the only way you can sex babies since fins can be any length at this age.