Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-12-2009, 11:27 AM   #1 

Have I done everything wrong?

I have been keeping fish on and off for over 30 years. At this point I just keep them in a large tank that showcases some of my rocks and crystals. The fish are really just there as a secondary effect.

Well, my neighbors kids decided to set up a fish bowl with a couple of gold fish. They had no luck and lost 4 gold fish in a week or so. I had a male and female betta in my tank and decided to give them to the kids. I figured the bettas would be better suited for that type of environment. In my 125 gal tank, they had plenty of space and never had the opportunity to breed. The many livebearers in there seem to dominate that department. I thought seeing the bettas breed would be kind of cool for the kids.

Well, I am fish sitting for a week and I am thinking I totally screwed up. The male has his bubble nest going and is trying to entice the female. The female is hiding out in the small cave in the bowl. When she does come out, the male is nipping her rear fin. It is almost half gone. Now, while reading here, I see that this scenario seems to be a recipe for disaster. They do not seem interested in their food at all. It just sits at the top of the tank for hours.

What have I done? What should I do? I do not want to disappoint the kids.

1361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 11:51 AM   #2 
rb500