Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-02-2013, 05:05 PM   #1 
Cowgirlthing

Talking My First Fish

Hey everyone! I'm a young adult hoping to purchase a Betta Fish on Friday (August Friday 6th) I'm very new to owning fish, but not to pets in general. I've had several pets, a dog, 3 cats, a finch, 2 hamsters, a horse (I leased), and a hedgehog, but never ever a fish! So I'm very excited, but I haven't the slightest clue where to even begin, I have a bowl already and I plan on only buying one because I know they are solitary fish with little maintenance. But I just have general care questions! I'd be delighted if someone could answer! Once I get him or her I will post pictures and keep you all updated! I know it's "just" a fish but I take pride it caring for all of the animals I had. I know I could ask all these questions to the pet store owners but I'd rather ask people with experience in these fish!

So here are just some general care questions!
- What sort of water do I use? Bottle, Tap, etc.
- How often should I clean out the bowl? And how do I clean it out, transfer the fish, etc?
- Any food suggestions?
- Decoration suggestions?
- Do fish "warm up to you"?
- How should I transfer the first from the bag to the bowl?
- How do I tell a male from a female?
- Any other tips or suggestions for me?

Thank you for taking the time to read this!
Here is the bowl I got for him or her! (It's Cat in the Hat Themed!)
Cowgirlthing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:01 PM   #2 
MidnightsSong

I have a feeling that that bowl isn't big enough to safely house a healthy fish. How big is it? Bettas generally need at least a 3 gallon tank that is heated and filtered. If you use a bowl, it'd more than likely have to be cleaned daily and all the water would have to be replaced. In a larger tank, say a three gallon you could change out 30% of the water every other day.