Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-04-2013, 11:33 AM   #1 
Avalonian

Suddenly Lethargic Fish! ARG!!

Hello fellow Beta Fish Lovers

I have a lethargic fish!

Here's what happened: Let me preface this by saying I am not a fish expert (although after a lot of googling I know a lot more than I initially did).

I bought an aquafarm (http://store.backtotheroots.com/Aqua...aquaponics.htm) and set it up on Saturday, after buying a small beta fish, named Bacala. The man at the pet store said it was a baby, which I believe because it is small but who knows if he knew what he was talking about!

I deeply regret not letting the tank cycle for 2 or 4 weeks or however long one is supposed to do that for.

That said we set up the tank, planted the seeds on the top, and did an elaborate series of steps to prepare the water and fish including de-chlorinators, a "fish bath," a dash of "new tank" stuff, etc etc.

Everything seemed great and the fish happily swam around and all was well. The water was too cloudy, I think because the plant pots in the "farm" part of the Aquafarm use shale rocks which can make the water cloudy when not rinsed thoroughly. Wheatgrass started growing pretty quickly out of the aquafarm, which meant the roots started sucking up all the gunk from the tank including the residue from the shale rocks that made the water cloudy.