Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 07-23-2009, 05:13 AM   #1 
gulpy

help with ammonia and possible fin rot

Hi all,

I am a newbie (to this forum and to caring for fishes). We recently (2 weeks) got a beautiful male betta named Gulpy. He is very active, flares a lot and eats like a pig. I am currently keeping him in an uncycled 1 gallon tank while I just started cycling a larger tank. In the 1 gallon I have been doing 100 % water change every week with 30 % changes every 2 days (from reading more I now feel the frequency should be doubled).

I always condition the tap water using the TopFin conditioner. Recently got the test kit (API, the solutions not the strips) and noticed the following readings in the tank about 1 day after a 100% water change

pH - 7.4
ammonia - 1 ppm
nitrite - 0.5 ppm
nitrate - 4 ppm

I then decided to test the tap water after I add the TopFin conditioner. I got the following readings

pH - 7.2 to 7.4
ammonia - 0.75 ppm !!!
nitrite - 0.5 ppm
nitrate - 2 ppm

The topfin conditioner is supposed to remove ammonia from the tap water, but obviously isnt. should I be adding some ammonia removal tablets to the water?
also I have noticed that the pH of my tap water fluctuates between 7.2 to 8.3 !!! should I be adding pH regulators too

Wow, I didnt figure the tap water in my neighbourhood was this bad!!!

Now on to the 2nd problem. Right in the beginning I noticed one small hole in his fins. Based on the little reading I did I thought just clean water would reverese that. But today I noticed 3 more small holes. I justed added a 1/2 teaspoon of aquarium salt to the gallon tank. Gulpy seems to be fine with the salt. I am posting some of his photos to ask if u guys think its fin rot. and what i should do. The photos don't clearly show the holes, they are tiny.
Name:  Copy of gulpy 015-2.jpg
Views: 17906
Size:  25.6 KB

Name:  Copy of gulpy 012-2.jpg