Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-09-2013, 01:12 AM   #1 
Distiya

Please Help! May have harmed fish :(

Hello there.

I'm very new to the forum and need some help. I got a Betta Fish (Neptune) about two months ago. I've had Betta's before in bowls that have lived for years, so I was confident having him in a 2 gallon bowl and everything was going very swell. Today, while changing the water, I broke the glass bowl. Luckily he was out of it, but I needed to replace him in something before I went to work.

I rushed out to the store and the only thing available was a new starter, 3 gallon tank. I thought it'd be cool to upgrade anyway, so I got it and set it up. However, I'm a total novice when it comes to filtered tanks. I didn't let the filter go for a 24 hour cycle because I was in a rush to get to work, and so I put him in the tank (I'm still at work now). It wasn't until I was online that I found out this mistake.

Do I take Neptune out and put him in something different the moment I get home? Is it okay to leave him even though it hasn't cycled? I don't want to kill or harm my fish at all. He's been a good buddy to me and I'd hate to do something to him due to my ignorance :( Any quick help greatly appreciated!
Distiya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 01:27 AM   #2 
Stone

you can get some tetra safe start or one of the many products to speed up the cycling process, or do bunches of water changes 50% or so every other day
Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 01:32 AM   #3 
Distiya

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stone View Post
you can get some tetra safe start or one of the many products to speed up the cycling process, or do bunches of water changes 50% or so every other day