Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-12-2013, 07:11 PM   #1 
MunchMeister

Newbie going to buy stuff?

So I'm a total newbie, and I've never had a fish before. I've researched on the internet and on here about stuff. I'm wondering what I should get? And note, at least for now, I'll be getting only 1 Betta.

Tank - How large? I don't want it to be too large, but with everything I might have to get a larger tank. Abd for only 1 Betta, it might be too large.

Water conditioner - For sure, since I'll be using tap water from sink.

Fish net - Should I even get this? Could it possibly hurt the slime coating/fins? Should I use a cup instead?

Betta fish food (high in protein) - I'll get a simple fish food for carnivores of some kind, but should I get some bloodworms or something too? If I'm using simple flakes/pellets, should I get a variety?

Gravel/soil/stone/sand - I read before that if I use soil, I need a covering on it so it doesn't mud. I'll be growing plants btw. Should I stick with simple gravel? What about smooth stones?

Ornaments - Definitely, should I get a cave as well? I'll probably get a male betta, so I don't think they'll hide like females. What about toys like hoops? I want to entertain and interact with it maybe.

A water heater with a thermostat - I live in San Jose, CA, so winter and nights might not be very tropical. Should I get it?

A water filter - Definitely

A Betta Fish - Obviously, but should I try getting a baby Betta? Or an older one?

Plants - Duckweed maybe, but it's a floater. Should I get something where my Betta can rest on? Maybe a hygrophilia, or a rosette or rhizome type? And should I limit myself to 1-2 plants for now?

Tankmates - I'm only having 1 Betta, but should I get 1-2 snails too? Or will they just add to biowaste excrements?

---