Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 08-06-2009, 07:24 PM   #1 
Sorineh

Talking Water Changes

Recently, I have done a lot of research on Betta Sororities and I am thinking of starting one. (I'm just worried about the high failure rate) But i have just one more question before making my final decision.

I am going to have 9 Bettas in a 15 gallon tank and I am wondering how often I should change the water since the tank will have such a heavy fish load? Its not cycled yet, but I think I probably will.

So what does the community think how much water should be changed weekly for a cycled and non-cycled tank?

Thanks for any comments.
Sorineh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 07:35 PM   #2 
Elena

I am new to bettas, but I have been running a 30 gal tropical community tank for about five years altogether. I think with such a high fish load you need to have a filter. Things can go wrong very fast in an unfiltered tank with 9 fish. If you choose not to cycle, you probably will want to keep it bare bottom to make water changes easier. I would do a 100% change once a week at least. What do other people think? I don't have experience with larger unfiltered tanks.
Elena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 07:39 PM   #3 
Sorineh

Sorry, i guess i should have said that i have a Tetra internal whisper power filter for the tank.
Old 08-06-2009, 07:43 PM   #4 
Sparky

9 female bettas in a 15 gal tank??? Not fair to the fish in my opinion .....sorry if I seem to harsh here
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2009, 07:58 PM   #5 
Sorineh

I know it doesn't, but overcrowding the tank will decrease the amount of aggression between the fish. Its either that or buying a huge tank with the same amount of fish. Like I said, i've done my research.
Old 08-06-2009, 08:12 PM   #6 
Crowntail Queen