Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-01-2013, 09:26 PM   #1 
eden000

Natural Plant Newbie - Nano Tank Diaries (and Questions!)

Hey guys! After having my Aqueon Evolve 2 set up for a couple months, I decided I wanted to add live plants to make my betta's days a little more natural. I also couldn't stop drooling over some of the lush jungle looks I've seen in this and other forums.

At first I just got a bit of Anubias petit nana tied to some driftwood (with the stock LEDs), but it slowly turned a weird orangey/brown colour. Disappointing. I did a bit more research, and was intrigued by the whole "a planted tank with fish will be more successful than a fish tank with plants" thing.

Here's my new setup: (and I GREATLY welcome any suggestions/critiques. Like I said, I'm a complete newbie and don't really know what I'm doing)

Tank: Aqueon Evolve 2
Lights: Fluval 13W (I just got this today...we'll see how it does). (On 8 hour/day cycle)
Substrate: White, unenriched sand with Seachem plant tabs
Plants: Anubias nana petite, some kind of crypt
Fertilizer: Seachem Flourish

My questions: Do I need to add much more plants to avoid an algae outbreak? I think the light I have is pretty strong for the tank, but the stock LEDs just didn't seem bright enough. Should I be dosing the Flourish, if so how much?

Does anyone else have any plant suggestions for things that would work in a tank this size, with this setup?

Last edited by eden000; 10-01-2013 at 09:31 PM.
eden000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 07:28 AM   #2 
Fishybitty

I read that moss balls help with algae, because it uses up the nutrients algae needs. Btw I like that tank! Looks nice
Fishybitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 07:53 AM   #3 
eden000

Thanks! Hmm, I forgot about moss balls! Good idea :)