Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-02-2013, 06:45 AM   #1 
Lefitte

How to have a healthy, happier betta?

Hi! I've been stalking your site for weeks now, you guys are so helpful! I'm Lefi and I've had bettas most of my life though I'm only starting to learn how to propely care for them. My first lived in a vase to the ripe age of 6 and I'm doing my best to make sure my newest lives just as long but a far better life. I got Chiisana (Chi for short) a few months ago. I wasn't even aware there were different breeds (its been years since I had one) and was delighted to get a HalfMoon Male. However, since getting him, I seem to continually running into problems and I'm hoping to get some advice. I've been steadily obtaining more and more essentials as needed but here's my current set up:

2.5 hooded minibow aquarium
CFL 13 watt spiral bulb
Filter with Fluval foam filter used to baffle the flow on intake and output *veeery gentle*
One smooth pagoda decoration (no rough edges), three silk plants, one Amazon Compacta, terracota pot hide

I recently added a baby albino bristle nose pleco on Thursday (for algae) who will be moved to a larger tank I intend to set up within a few months. No other tankmates.

I use Aqueon water conditioner and recently use Api's CO2 for the amazon compacta.
I do 25-50% water changes weekly.
I feed 2 betta pellets every morning and night, supplementing that with freeze dried bloodworms 1-3 times a week.

Water Parameters
Temp: I try to keep it at 80. (The past few days we hit our first cold snap and the temps been between 76 and 78 and fell to 74 a couple times, I'm getting a temporary heater tomorrow, to be replaced with a better model soon)
I don't have my own testing kit yet (did get hanging meters which don't really work well) but Petsmart tested my water on the 26th, before a 75% water change.
Ammonia: .25
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 20