Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-03-2013, 04:53 PM   #1 
Amaranthia

Cycling a 15g tank

I'm really new at this and don't know what to expect. I'm trying to cycle my tank quickly, and the guy at the fish store suggested that I use StartSmart Complete. I conditioned all my water, put in about 2 tbsp of aquarium salt, my moss ball, and then put about an ounce of the StartSmart in. This was only yesterday and the water is already cloudy. Is this okay?

I haven't gotten my filter or heater yet - I was planning to wait about a week - but I read somewhere that in order for the bacteria to establish itself, it needs the water to be warm and flowing. Should I get the filter and heater now instead of in a week?

Thanks!
Amaranthia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 05:25 PM   #2 
CoolishPrune3

I'm not sure about the SmartStart Complete. I don't even know if that is what cause your water to become cloudy. Sometimes it just happens and there is a good chance the water will not clear up, unless you have a filter running. Have you had cloudy water in the past or is this cloudy water new to you?

Here are some links for you on cycling and a highly recommend product used for cycling. However, not everyone is a fan of adding cycling additives.

Drs. Foster & Smith - One and Only
A Beginner's Guide to the Freshwater Aquarium Cycle
Step-by-Step Nitrogen Cycle Guide
CoolishPrune3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 03:10 AM   #3 
Hallyx
Reference Team

It is well-known that the bacteria responsible for the nitrogen cycle are nitrosomonas and nitrospira (some call it nitrobacter). Any product that can cycle your tank will list these in the literature. Smart Start does not say it contains these.