Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-07-2013, 07:50 PM   #1 
hollyk

Heaters for small tanks?

Hello again, everyone!

I need some help with heaters for very small tanks. Please hear me out for a moment and don't judge- I'm going to buy bigger tanks for the fish. Last weekend, I bought 2 bettas from Walmart that were both in very bad shape. (See a previous thread for all of the gory details.) I didn't want them to die there, and most people wouldn't bring bettas that looked like these guys home. I believe that they most likely would've died if I had left them there, and one of them still doesn't look great. Anyways, I'm a starving grad student, so all I could afford at the moment for them was 1/2 gallon tanks. I'm changing the water daily and the water parameters are okay except for one thing- the temperature.

I'm starting them at 78 degrees, but within a few hours, they've dropped by 10 degrees! I changed the water today before going to my office, and when I got home a few hours later, the temps are at 68-70 degrees. Obviously, that's not going to work out! I really can't afford bigger tanks with heaters at the moment- I'll get them when I get paid at the end of the month. In the meantime, though, does anyone have any suggestions on how to keep the water warm? I am taking classes, assisting teaching classes, holding office hours, etc., so I'm not home all the time. I really can't do water changes every few hours to keep reheating the water. Maybe a couple of times a day, but more than that just won't be feasible. Are there super-tiny heaters in existence that I can use for the time being, or does anyone have any advice on a good way to keep them warm?

Thanks!
hollyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 08:31 PM   #2 
cowboy