Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-10-2013, 09:38 AM   #1 
venakhol

petco rescue w/ fin rot- newbie betta owner

I have an elephant ear betta I rescued from Petco (poor sweetie was still playful and excited despite the back half of all his fins being translucent) and I have no experience caring for bettas, so I was wondering what the best ideas for treatment are?

Also, I'm wondering if 50% water changes 2x a week is enough/too much for an uncycled tank (his fins were getting damaged by the little container so I put him in the tank after I had rinsed it a lot and let it cycle for ~12 hours, I know that's too soon). I don't care about the work required, I just want to help him get better.

Housing
What size is your tank? 3 Gal (largest allowed by my college, sorry)
What temperature is your tank? 82 degrees
Does your tank have a filter? Yes, gentle
Does your tank have an air stone or other type of aeration? Yes, gentle
Is your tank heated? Yes
What tank mates does your betta fish live with? none

Food
What type of food do you feed your betta fish? aqueon betta food, tetra dried bloodworms every other day
How often do you feed your betta fish? 2x a day

Maintenance
How often do you perform a water change? 2x a week
What percentage of the water do you change when you perform a water change? 50%
What type of additives do you add to the water when you perform a water change? Tetra Bettasafe, 22 drops

Water Parameters:
Have you tested your water? If so, what are the following parameters? No, but I'm getting a liquid testing kit in the mail tomorrow

Symptoms and Treatment
How has your betta fish's appearance changed? N/A, came with translucent fin edges
How has your betta fish's behavior changed? N/A, active
When did you start noticing the symptoms? N/A