Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-14-2013, 11:04 AM   #1 
thendeathsaid

Newbie here--general inquiries

Hi everyone, I got a betta two weeks ago. These are the details of my tank:
  • 2.5 gallons
  • three small live plants
  • sponge filter
  • some gravel (not enough to cover the base of the tank)
  • pH level around 7.0-7.6 (it varies)
  • 11 W lamp

I'm in the process of cycling it right now.

Some questions:

1) I had been using bottled water at first, but switched to tap water when I started cycling because it was more convenient. But I noticed that the nitrite level went up after my first water change (using part tap water part bottled water). I tested my tap water and found it has a nitrite level between 0 and 0.5 ppm (the test kit I have right now only has intervals of 0.5).

Should I switch back to bottled water? The nitrite levels had been 0 ppm when I tested the water while it was still bottled water. Or is there a way to get rid of the nitrite in the tap water?

2) Is 11 W too bright? I don't have a way to adjust the lamp brightness, except by using a translucent paper to cover it. What is the ideal wattage to use for a betta in a 2.5 gallon tank? How many hours per day should I leave it on?

Edit: 3) Because the pH varies (it goes up), when I make water changes, should I align the new water's pH with the current pH of the water in the tank? Or should I make the fresh water a lower pH?

Thank you!

Last edited by thendeathsaid; 10-14-2013 at 11:12 AM.
thendeathsaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 11:29 AM   #2 
TiffanyP