Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2013, 08:48 AM   #1 
BettaNewbie1
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Filter died

We have a Top Fin 5 gallon tank (split into two sections for our 2 bettas). The filter that came with the tank stopped working after only 6 weeks or so. The motor is running, but no water is coming through it anymore - and it doesn't look like it's clogged anywhere.

So I guess we need to get a new filter. Should I get another Top Fin for it? Other suggestions? Another thing to note that may be a factor on which filter to get - we've had a problem with algae lately!

Thanks!
BettaNewbie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 11:35 AM   #2 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
Did you prime it?

R
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 11:57 AM   #3 
BettaNewbie1
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickey View Post
Did you prime it?

R
Before we ever put the fish in it, yes, we primed it. I also use something each time we change the water - something the pet store gave me.

There wasn't an algae problem until about 3 weeks ago. (I think I am off on how long we've had the fish - we've actually had them more like 12 weeks now).
BettaNewbie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 11:57 AM   #4 
BettaNewbie1
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
If you're talking about priming the filter, I am not sure what that means then.
BettaNewbie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 12:02 PM   #5 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
Pour some water in the filter.


R
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 12:34 PM   #6 
BettaNewbie1
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
I will try that. Thanks.
BettaNewbie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 08:38 PM   #7 
BettaNewbie1
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
That worked....thanks! Thanks for helping this newbie from buying a new filter when that one still worked perfectly fine.
BettaNewbie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 03:58 AM   #8 
Fishybitty
Member
 
Fishybitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ohio
Hey there bettanewbie1, make sure if you unplug your filter or anything to poor water in the back holding tank before you plug it in. Try not to skip that step, or you could ruin your filter.


:)
Fishybitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 10:26 AM   #9 
RussellTheShihTzu
Reference Team
 
RussellTheShihTzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tennessee
To be safe, I always unplug the heater and filter when I do water changes. Those and my lights are on a power strip which makes it easier.
RussellTheShihTzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 11:00 AM   #10 
Viva
Member
 
Viva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Massachusetts
I agree with Russell. If you get into the habit of unplugging both the heater and filter when you do water changes then there's virtually no change they'll be damaged in the process. Heaters especially cannot have a water level under the minimum water level marked on it.
Viva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filter died mid cycle.. help! Loz Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies 2 09-02-2013 08:44 PM
A betta died!!!! Aqua died!!! frogipoi Betta Chat 14 09-04-2010 07:47 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.