Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Compatibility
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-11-2009, 07:40 PM   #1 
ElmoFish

To those of you with sorority tanks...

A few questions, as I'm new to the sorority game, and I want to stay on top of things so that none of my girls get hurt, and they're separated in time if necessary.

1) When do I need to worry about aggression levels? One of my bigger girls seems to make a game of chasing the two small girls around, although she doesn't seem to nip at them when she catches up to them.

2) How long should it take to establish a pecking order? They seem to have already determined the dominant fish, although i think it alternates between Scarlette and Twilight depending on the time of day, but if they start chasing and nipping, how long should I let this go on before deciding that there is a problem?

3) If it comes to a point where one fish is bullying another, should I remove the aggressor or the girl getting picked on? Lily seems to be stressed more often than any of the other girls, I assume this is because she has been out of the sorority lifestyle flying solo with me for a couple months, while the others came from tanks full of other girls. Her stress stripes do fade away for a while, and then come back if she's chased again.. should I remove her if things start to look worse, or the aggressive fish causing her stress?

4) I'm thinking about adding 2 more girls to complete the tank, although I've also pondered the idea of some non-aggressive fish to distract the girls.. with the tank stocked as it is there wouldn't be a whole lot of options besides maybe a small school of minnows or some cleaners or something.. any suggestions?

So far everything seems to be going exceptionally well, but I don't want to miss any warning signs and wake up with dead girls on my hands.. although I know it's still a possibility.
ElmoFish is offline   Reply With Quote