Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2013, 11:15 AM   #1 
Haseo
Member
 
Haseo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: TX
Changing to a smaller tank.

Im moving my betta to a smaller tank. I dont have room for his 15gal tank anymore, so im getting a 5gal. I was wondering if im just gonna take the substrate and live plants from one tank to the other, do i still need to cycle the 5 gal?
Haseo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:43 AM   #2 
MyRedBetta
Member
 
MyRedBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Depends, if you don't cycle, are you ok with doing water changes more than once a week? If not, then yes you'll have to cycle a new tank :)
MyRedBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:46 AM   #3 
Haseo
Member
 
Haseo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyRedBetta View Post
Depends, if you don't cycle, are you ok with doing water changes more than once a week? If not, then yes you'll have to cycle a new tank :)
Even if im taking everything from my 15gal? Its been up and going for over 6 months.
Haseo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 11:51 AM   #4 
MyRedBetta
Member
 
MyRedBetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haseo View Post
Even if im taking everything from my 15gal? Its been up and going for over 6 months.
Would be ok, just don't allow your filter media to dry out, as soon as it dries, any good bacteria dies.
MyRedBetta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 12:04 PM   #5 
Haseo
Member
 
Haseo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyRedBetta View Post
Would be ok, just don't allow your filter media to dry out, as soon as it dries, any good bacteria dies.
Thx!!! (:
Haseo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 12:05 PM   #6 
valen1014
Member
 
valen1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyRedBetta View Post
Depends, if you don't cycle, are you ok with doing water changes more than once a week? If not, then yes you'll have to cycle a new tank :)
You wouldn't have to do water changes more than once a week if you don't want to actually. At least not according to most people and the sticky on this forum ^^;
valen1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 12:15 PM   #7 
jaysee
Reference Team
 
jaysee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by valen1014 View Post
You wouldn't have to do water changes more than once a week if you don't want to actually. At least not according to most people and the sticky on this forum ^^;
They were saying that it you start over fresh that you would have to do more than one water change a week, which would be true for doing a fish in cycle (aka "not cycling"). If the person moved the substrate and plants and especially the filter media over to the new tank, ten they would not need to do more than one water change a week, which is true.



I highly recommend that you move the filter media over to the new tank. You may need to take a pair of scissors to it. I also recommend moving the substrate over, unless of course you were interested in doing something different.
jaysee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 01:07 PM   #8 
Haseo
Member
 
Haseo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysee View Post
They were saying that it you start over fresh that you would have to do more than one water change a week, which would be true for doing a fish in cycle (aka "not cycling"). If the person moved the substrate and plants and especially the filter media over to the new tank, ten they would not need to do more than one water change a week, which is true.



I highly recommend that you move the filter media over to the new tank. You may need to take a pair of scissors to it. I also recommend moving the substrate over, unless of course you were interested in doing something different.
Im moving the substrate over for sure beacause of the live plants. I wanted to change to a sponge filter because of my ghost shrimp. So if i kept the old filter in for a while with the sponge filter, how long would i have to leave it in before i could take it out?
Haseo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 01:33 PM   #9 
jaysee
Reference Team
 
jaysee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brigantine, NJ
What do you have for media in your current filter?
jaysee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 01:46 PM   #10 
Haseo
Member
 
Haseo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysee View Post
What do you have for media in your current filter?
Just a filter cartridge
Haseo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smaller Tank? KindaChewy Betta Fish Care 5 09-01-2013 06:02 AM
Betta tale getting smaller ans smaller each day Lena N Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies 8 08-10-2013 12:20 AM
thermometer for smaller tank? please help! angus Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 14 02-16-2013 02:32 AM
Should I try a smaller tank? Bombalurina Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 5 10-26-2011 08:45 PM
Smaller tank? Norichan Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories 21 07-26-2011 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.