Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-23-2009, 01:41 PM   #1 
1fish2fish

Upgrading from standard fish bowls.. need advice.

I have two male bettas that are currently in 1 gal fish bowls.. no heater no filter.. nothing.

Within the next 2 or so weeks I will be buying either 2 2.5-3 gallon aquariums or 1 10gallon aquarium with divider.
I am planning on adding mystery snails (probably 1 per fish) to the new set up also.
I've only ever had fish bowls so I have a few questions on using aquariums..

What is cycling? Should I do fish-less or with the fish, snails, already in place?

Should I do live plants? I should let it be know that I'm a college student so this aquarium has to travel 4 hrs back home during the summer and back in the fall (possibly)

Should I get a vacuum to clean the tank? (remember its only going to be 2.5 or 10 gallons)

What is the best way to clean it? Partial water changes or full? How often do you clean it?

Gravel or sand? or both?

Should I use a filter for bettas or not?.. I'm getting conflicting advice with this.

If I got the 10 gallon how many times (theoretically) could I divide it safely? I think probably no more that four (maybe five)?

Im sure I'll have a bunch more questions but for now these are it. I really appreciate your answers.
1fish2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2009, 02:19 PM   #2 
DragonFish

Hello

Wonderful to know that your upgrading! You're boys will be very happy

Here are a couple links that explain the cycling process, I had others but I don't know what happened to them....you can also google 'Aquarium cycle' or something of the sort
http://www.fishforum.com/freshwater-...ium-cycle-252/
http://www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm

Personally, I think if you can, go with a fishless cycle. Heres a wonderful link that explains how to go about it