Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 09-26-2009, 07:59 PM   #1 
DreamOn

Aquarium Salt Questions!

As I've mentioned in other posts, I'm new to bettas and am trying to get all the supplies to maintain optimum health for my little fishy. I've come across differing opinions on aquarium salt and wanted to see what you guys think! Here go the questions:

(1) Do you use aquarium salt all the time, or only when disease is suspected (and only in the form of a bath, in the event of disease?)

(2) Can aquarium salt disrupt the cycle in a cycled tank? (Thought I had read it mildly fought bacteria...)

(3) If using aquarium salt, should you avoid combining it with anything else? (ie: Bettafix, other medicines, Prime)

(4) Do you need to acclimate the betta slowly to water with aquarium salt, or can the fish just be put right into the water? Can the salt affect water parameters?

Any input is much appreciated. Thanks!!
DreamOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 06:50 AM   #2 
KP0707

1) the salt is used as a prevention to diseases
2)No i dont think so but i think you should check with others
3)No it should be made for it
4)Not sure as i am also new to bettas
KP0707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 09:30 AM   #3 
giypsy

Research indicated:
a) aquarium salt should be used only if you suspect bacterial disease
b) no more than a quarter tsp per gallon in a tank with bacterial bloom as supportive maintenance while treating the water/fish in this instance and this should continue for 4 wks.
c) Important: salt should be completely dissolved in your change water before introducing into your tank/quarantine container. That may require you putting the salt into very warm water to dissolve and waiting until the water is the same temp before introducing it into your tank/quarantine container.
Yep, there is a little math involved. Hope this helps.