Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2009, 11:13 PM   #11 
iheartmyfishies
Member
 
iheartmyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: USA
Was the filter running before you put him in? You should let the filter run for about 24 hours before adding fish. The filter was new and the plastic was new and it probably contaminated the water. Cleanliness is very important when it comes to fish.
iheartmyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 11:20 PM   #12 
BakaMandy
Member
 
BakaMandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada
To me it looks like an under gravel filter because of that air pump on the side... Usually the current isn't too strong with under gravel filters since it usually sucks the water from under the gravel and then pushes out the top, usually only with bubbles. Is there actually a filter that hangs off the side or did you have to put something under the gravel?
BakaMandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 11:38 PM   #13 
AngelicScars
Member
 
AngelicScars's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SC
My only guess would be no water conditioner. It's absolutely needed.
AngelicScars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 12:17 AM   #14 
kelly528
Member
 
kelly528's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Did you rinse all the equipment out beofre you put it in?
kelly528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 05:13 PM   #15 
Lady Ivy
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Valencia. California
Onestly i use drinking water so i wont put that water conditioner and so far he is doing ok.
Lady Ivy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2009, 06:20 PM   #16 
dr2b
Member
 
dr2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lady Ivy View Post
Onestly i use drinking water so i wont put that water conditioner and so far he is doing ok.
I did this when I first got Flair. It got expensive though.
dr2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 07:33 PM   #17 
Jynx
Member
 
Jynx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bakersfield California
The fish could have been sick when you bought him. It happens all the time.
Jynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:02 PM   #18 
Rubicon
New Member
 
Rubicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Upstate, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jynx View Post
you can also use plants or decorations to spread out the current
Most power filters will have an adjustable baffle to control the rate of flow...

I'm not sure if this set up had a power filter or not.
Rubicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edited version: What is wrong with my beta? vickramreddy Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies 4 01-06-2010 09:10 PM
New beta fish InsaneoMan Betta Fish Care 41 01-14-2009 06:55 PM
What's wrong with my Beta Beta Mom Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies 5 09-20-2008 01:30 AM
New Beta fish inuit_jay Betta Fish Care 3 03-15-2008 03:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.