Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Planted Betta Tanks
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-13-2013, 04:33 AM   #1 
Vergil

How feasible is a planted tank for a 2.5gal aquarium?

I'm new to aquariums and bettas in general. The little guy in my avvie is Hiko and this is my first 2.5 gal tank since keeping him in a fishbowl.

Anyway, I'd like to hear some pros and cons on keeping a planted 2.5 gal tank. I keep mine unfiltered and there is no heating (doubt it's necessary since I live near the equator but I could be wrong?).

If a fully planted tank isn't possible, what few plants can I add? I prefer light green plants but please let me know which ones are likely more to thrive and the required maintenance.

Thanks to anyone who posts.

EDIT: I only have one betta. No intention to keep anything else besides plants in a tank but let me know if certain plants will be better/more efficient with a few snails, shrimps, etc.

Last edited by Vergil; 11-13-2013 at 04:42 AM.
Vergil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 03:53 PM   #2 
Bombalurina

Any sized tank can be as planted as you like. :) Some people plant tanks so tiny that a shrimp can't even fit. Search for nano-tanks for inspiration.

I would use at least the following plants:
- java fern (attractive, very low-maintenance. Just tie it to something - don't bury the roots - and watch it grow).
- anubias (ditto. Nice flat leaves make great betta-beds).
- java moss (even lower-maintenance and very versatile. You can make a wall, a carpet, tie it to decor or rocks, or just let it drift around the substrate).
- hornwort (root it in the substrate. Grows very easily, and you can trim it every few days/once a week to keep it a sensible size).
- elodea (ditto).
- wisteria (ditto.
- lacefern (ditto, though it can overwhelm a small tank very easily).