Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-20-2013, 08:02 PM   #1 
preternaturalism

The F Word

Introductions.

I spawned bettas successfully numerous times when I was in my early teens, got the fry past the yolk sac stage, then had them die off. This was before there was much info on genetics or fry rearing via the internet so all I had to go off of was a sparse handbook I had picked up in the lfs, not terribly helpful for troubleshooting. I'm almost certain now that those lost batches were caused by lack of daily water changes which the adults would tolerate but the fry wouldn't, and/or overfeeding bbs. With the abundance of information accessible today, I'm fairly certain I can make a go at actually growing fry to adults.

I'm a full-time chemist, so I don't have as much free time as I'd like, but I do have the funds to set up and care for the fry.

The goal here is to wind up with a stable line of dumbo feathertails. I know, right here, I'm going to tweak a whole lot of people into jumping in with that's-not-right, feathertails-always-give-you-xfactor-spawn-always, dumbos-aren't-symmetrical, these-fish-will-never-be-showable, and that's okay. Feel free to speak your mind. Just know that I don't care about show standards except so far as they make good building blocks for new varieties, I'm determined to push forward with this as far as the DNA will let me, and I'm not squeamish about culling.

Now, stock!

All these fish were bought off Ebay, bred in Thailand. I'm going to see if I can get information on the breeder from the importer, but it's not going to change my eventual goals, just potentially give me more of a history to look at. The pictures are off of Ebay as well. I'll try to take more once the fish arrive.