Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-22-2013, 11:20 AM   #1 
roughly

Question “Help everyone, we need advice about our finicky Finnygan . . .”

Hello, all. This is my first time posting here, but I’ve been lurking for a few months. I’ve gotten a lot of great advice from simply searching through past posts, but as I’ve found that my latest problems require a bit more specificity. So here’s the rundown:
Our betta is a 3-year-old-plus by the name of Professor Finnygan. For his first 3 years living with us, we’ve had him in a large (about 1.7 gallon) fishbowl which is essentially shaped like an enormous brandysniffer. While we didn’t have a heater in his bowl, we’ve always positioned him on our kitchen table in front of two full-sized glass sliding doors, so he gets a great deal of sunlight. (We also have a small decorative “Surf Shop” house that he can retreat to on days when the sun is streaming in a bit too much for his liking.) We change his water every week like clockwork, & we eat every meal with him. He is a prolific bubblenest-maker & is the pride of our household; we chat with him daily & generally dote on this handsome fella! (It might be my imagination, but I think he enjoys it when we sing to him. I’m a songwriter, & when I’m writing at the kitchen table, I will sometimes take a break & try to compose a little impromptu song about our Finnygan. But I digress . . .)