Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-25-2013, 07:24 PM   #1 
CoolishPrune3
Member
 
CoolishPrune3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Filtration problem

Okay. So I have a Tetra Whisper 10 gal air pump connected to a 2-1 valve that supplies air to two sponge filters in 2 5 gallon tanks. When I first hooked it all up I had loss of flow in Tank 1. Now, I am getting a loss of flow in tank 2. However, it seems that the loss of air flow, in Tank 2, is very noticeable and even hooking up just one hose doesn't seem to fix the problem. So I am thinking that the problem might some how be in the tank itself, within the filter media or tubes. At first glance it does not appear that the hose is kinked or pinched in anyway. I just don't know what might be causing the problem. Anyone ever had a problem like this or know what might be causing this problem?
CoolishPrune3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 07:27 PM   #2 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
Air stones?
R
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 08:22 PM   #3 
CoolishPrune3
Member
 
CoolishPrune3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
None.
CoolishPrune3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 09:07 PM   #4 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
Probably an air pump failure
Bad diagram or valve in the air pump

R
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 10:23 PM   #5 
CoolishPrune3
Member
 
CoolishPrune3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Yeah. but the one tank is got good are flow. So I know there isn't a problem with the pump itself. I switch the hoses around on the valve and it didn't change anything. I just don't understand what could be causing such an obstruction.
CoolishPrune3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:19 AM   #6 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
Is one tank deeper that the other?
R
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 08:12 AM   #7 
Hallyx
Reference Team
 
Hallyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fungus corners
Maybe one hose is longer, or there might be a sharper bend, or there might be a small obstruction you can't find.

Get one small (cheap) air adjuster valve. Put it in the line that works best. Use this to equalize pressure and airflow between the tanks.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 11:25 AM   #8 
sandybottom
Reference Team
 
sandybottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: minnesota,usa
are you using a t-valve? if the t-valve is not totally level,one may cut out. you can test this by turning the valve.
sandybottom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 07:21 PM   #9 
CoolishPrune3
Member
 
CoolishPrune3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Both tanks are 5 gallon, same depth. I have a valve that splits into two. I switched the hoses on the valve and I've tried completely closing one side off and the pressure is still minimal. There was good pressure before, that's why I am so confused. Because, I am still getting good pressure in the other tank. It appears to only be Tank 2 that has lost pressure.
CoolishPrune3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 07:27 PM   #10 
rickey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sarasota Fl
bad pump
r
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.