Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-24-2009, 03:48 PM   #1 
Hirelena

Bloodworms: yes or no?

Im new to the world of betta's, and saw that it would be nice for the fish to have a varied diet. So I was wondering how people felt about freeze dried bloodworms. Do they cause bloat, or if there is a special way to prepare them? Is it okay to give it to them once in a while, or daily? Do I soak them? Etc?

Betta's have so much personality and I dont wanna just give them stuff all willy nilly and hurt them.

Thankies!
Hirelena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 04:32 PM   #2 
DragonFish

Welcome to the addiction!

I stay away from freezedried myself, just to be safe, and stick with frozen bloodworms, brine shrimp, and Daphnia. I've read that the process it goes through to freezedry things actually remove the nutrients, and that it can cause bloat and the like....but, with that said, I've also heard a couple things about soaking them fist, only giving a couple, ext. But, IMHO, its not worth the risk....I'm also super paranoid though

Also, they should only be fed 'treats' such as bloodworms and brine shrimp once-twice a week with a good pellet as a staple diet. I choose a day for each(bloodworms and brine shrimp)and replace the evening feeding with a few. Hope this helps!
DragonFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2009, 05:06 PM   #3 
Hirelena

Wow you got a lot of fish o.o hehe!

Yea its an addiction, every time I go to wal mart or pets mart for their food or items, I go, "Wow shes gorgous I wanna take her home with me!". Luckily I go with friends who say, "nooo! Where are you gonna keep it!" LOL.