Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-30-2013, 07:43 AM   #1 
WaterWolf100

Water Change

So I'm a college student and I live in a dorm. I have had a betta fish, Dinozzo, for almost a year now. A few days ago I came home for Thanksgving and I brought home my big tank so Dinozzo could be set up there until after Christmas.

I had my parents leave out 3 gallons of water for about 48 hours (he has a 3 gal, heated, filtered tank) and after I rinsed out his rock I put the water in, conditioned it with stress coat and aquarium salt, let it heat up for a while and put Dinozzo back in.

Ever since though, he hasn't been the same. At school he had been recovering from poor water quality (my own fault) and was just getting back to health. Now he will just sit at the bottom of the tank all day. He won't eat anything (which is unusual for him). He normally swims right up to the top of the tank when I have food for him.

Could this have anything to do with the new water? At school I have city water, and at home it's unsoftened well water. Is his behavior expected from this and what can I do to make him better. He has been doing so well and I hate to see all our progress be wasted.
WaterWolf100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 08:15 AM   #2 
Hallyx
Reference Team

Sometimes there is a large difference in pH and hardness between city-water and well-water. Some fish are sensitive to this change. It may take several days for him to get used to his new water.

Stop using salt. It makes the hardness/pH worse. Prime is a better water conditioner for well-water because it chelates (captures) heavy metals.

What temperature are you maintaining? What are you feeding him? Is your tank cycled?

Last edited by Hallyx; 11-30-2013 at 08:20 AM.
Hallyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2013, 12:59 PM   #3 
WaterWolf100