Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 10-28-2009, 10:47 PM   #1 
Chell

Angry Misery sure loves company

Hi there, newbie here

First things first: I just love this forum. It's been very very helpful.
Also I'm sorry in advance for the gigantic text bellow.

Ok, so here's the situation:
I kinda of "rescued" a betta when I was looking for a fish tank.

I wasn't going to buy one at THAT time, I was actually planning to plant the tank a little before adding fish, but oh well.

Tesla came home in a plastic bag filled with very disgusting water, so I rushed to put him in the tank. There I noticed minor fin rot. I had worked on the tank setup until very late, so treating it would have to wait (stores closed).

Today I woke up to see that my Tesla got one of his eyes slightly bloated.

I panicked a little, but I managed to buy the medicine and put him in a small betta bowl (it has only 1 liter...) for him to receive the medicine.

He seems very pissed, but i didn't wanted to put medicine with the plants around. Dunno If I am doing what's right though.

Anyway, while he was "away" I decided do a 50% water change in the tank, fiddle a little with the heater, and check the plants.

The plants had little black spots on them. One of them (forgot the name) was obviously dying so I threw it away. The other ( a Egeria densa) is still alive but I dunno if it'll make it. Cut the parts and leaves that were dead and put it back at the tank.

It's not the very first time I try to plant a tank, but it's certainly the first time It goes THIS wrong.

To summarize things:
Plants are dead/dying.
Betta is sick.
Tank water in apparent major chaos.

What can I do to stop making things get even worse???

The only good thing it's that Tesla still eats and is exploring his "quarantine bowl" like crazy.