Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-09-2013, 01:47 PM   #1 
aggee99

New here, need help with water test readings

Hi everyone! I am very new to the betta community. I am so in love with my little guy and he has such a personality! I am trying so hard to do everything right.

I have a 5 gallon filtered tank with no plants. I have had him in there for 3 weeks now and the first week in a NEW tank I used seachem stability like the instructions said. I did a 25% water change the second week and added stability again with the change. The third week my strip tests were saying the nitrites were high...so I began to FREAK. I did a 20% water change two days in a row also adding the seachem stability.

Today, I bought a fancy shmancy API freshwater master test kit...here is what it read:

pH- A little darker than 7.6
Ammonia- about 1.0 ppm
Nitrite--probably about 5.0ppm
Nitrate-5.0 ppm

Should I do another 25% water change? I bought some seachem prime as well and read on their site that it could be used in conjunction with the seachem stability.

HELP! I just want to do everything right. This is so confusing for a new fish mom! I'm used to the furry kids! :)

I did read your stickys up top, but still feel dumb...or maybe haven't found the right one.

Thank you so much for any advice.
aggee99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 04:25 PM   #2 
rickey
Banned

Need to keep the ammonia and nitrite under 1 ppm
You need to do a partial water change.
Just a very little bit of salt to prevent nitrite poisoning at this point

R
rickey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 04:32 PM   #3 
aggee99

Quote:
Originally Posted by rickey View Post
Just a very little bit of salt to prevent nitrite poisoning at this point

R