Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-15-2009, 08:02 PM   #1 
BettaBombshell

Dumpster Diving New Girl

Hey everyone! My name is Luna and I'm new to BF.com. It's very nice to make you acquaintance and hope that we will become good friends. As the title of my thread suggests I dumpster dive... but when I say for what I'm sure it will make you sick. Optimus Prime, my male Veiltail( he is in my siggy) is my second betta, and he is also my second rescue. The petland near me has a horrible habit. When they get new stock in they THROW AWAY all the old stock, dead or alive. I saved him when a store associate was putting all the older stock of bettas in the trash. I will tell you right now that it was love at first sight. He was the only one moving. He was slow but alert and as I watched him being placed into the black trash bag something inside me snapped. I had to save him, he might already be dying but I had to try. I waited in my car for 15 minutes while the guy took them out to the dumpster and when he shut the door I raced to the smelly disgusting bin to see if my quarry was still alive. I tore open the bag to find him right on top. He was cold and slow but he was still alert. I snatched him up and as quickly as I could drove home and put him in my 29 gallon tank. Quarantine was not necessary as I was at petco to buy some residents but I only brought back Optimus. From the very second he was introduced to his new tank till now he won't let me out of his sight if I'm in the room. The instant I come into view he is right there waiting to greet me. I feed him Atison's betta Pro, and he is conditioned with Atison's betta Spa. But recently my 29 gallon broke a seal so he and my newest betta are in large bowls I bought at walmart until I can get my 75 gal back up and running. I have decided on keeping both my boys together in the 75 gal separated by doubled dividers made