Betta Fish Forum banner

can anyone help me? I'm new to heaters.

Tags
heater
973 views 11 replies 5 participants last post by  amandiepants 
#1 ·
hello everyone I am buying a heater for my tank today my fish almost died yesterday. the water is way too cold its a one and a half gallon tank. I'm new too heaters and I'm wondering if a 7 .5watt mini heater what is too much? The reviews were saying it was fine depending on room temperature. the guy at the store told me it was compatible from one gallon to 5 gallons. also I'm wondering how to acclimate the fish with the heater? should I take him out watch the temperature and acclimate him back in? How do i do that? Also can someone give me the proper specs on water quality? Nitrites, nitrates, ammonia, etc. thank you all soooo much!

#2 ·
7.5 watts depends, is it adjustable or preset? For small tanks I like preset heaters. No matter how large the heater, as soon as the temperature reaches its setting (usually around 27 degrees Celsius) it shuts off, so you don't have to worry about it overheating. I technically have too much wattage in my tank, but with the preset heater I don't have to worry. Being in Canada I worry about my heater not being able to handle the cold temperatures. I've blown through several adjustable heaters. But getting an over-sized preset has helped with all of that.

As for acclimation, I would just put it in with your fish. It will slowly adjust to the proper temperature. This should be much less stressful than removing the fish and putting him back in.

#3 ·
I use this one in both of my 1 gallons: http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=12315584
it is not preset, it heats the tank to around 5-10 degrees over room temperature, so I know it's not optimal, but they fit nicely, and I always see the temp on thermometer between 78 and 82 for a month now. It's important to monitor a thermometer with these types, just in case.