Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 11-24-2009, 08:50 PM   #1 
Indigo13

Possibley Overfeeding Emergency

My male betta, Liam, suddenly started showing strange symptoms this afternoon. His stomach is very, very bloated, and his eyes are bulging. He's swimming in a strange pattern, often upside down or just lying on the bottom of the tank. Sometimes he goes to the top of the tank and seems to gasp at the air. I'm not very experienced in betta illness. I did some research, and this looks like overfeeding. But I'm not sure. Yesterday, I fed him a lot more than usual because I wanted to make up for missing the previous day's feedings. I'm really worried because it looks like he's struggling to get air, and I don't want him to suffer. Any advice or suggestions?
Thanks.

Last edited by Indigo13; 11-24-2009 at 08:59 PM.
Indigo13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 09:26 PM   #2 
Yuuki

When you overfeed fish, they often get this sort of problem. Overfeeding causes bloating, and bloating can cause trouble with their swim bladder. (They use their swim bladder to control whether they float to the top or sink to the bottom.)

Anywho, if the swim bladder is being squashed because of the bloating, it acts up and affects their ability to swim.

First thing you should do is lower the water level in the tank. That will make it easier for him to get to the surface for air. And then don't feed him for 2-3 days; this will help clear all of the extra food out of his system. Fish don't need to make up for missed meals, they'll be fine even if you forget to feed them for a week.

However... the bulging eyes worries me. Overfeeding wouldn't usually cause that.
Yuuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 09:36 PM   #3 
Indigo13