Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Meet the Betta Keepers
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-27-2014, 12:17 PM   #1 
Pipsqueak

Hello from Southwest Michigan

Hello there, my name is Pipsqueak and I'm newer to the world of keeping Betta Splendens. I've had several of these beautiful fish in the past, but unfortunately, I was too young and uneducated to understand that I wasn't caring for them properly, which resulted in their deaths. I'm mature now and wish to redeem myself by researching proper care on this forum so that one day I can choose a Betta whom I can call my baby and spoil like a grandmother spoils her grandchildren.

And now, it's time for a short Q&A session. I'll ask the questions and you answer if you can!

Q: What aquariums would you suggest for someone who is somewhat on a budget (I'm a student so I'm not the richest person in the world)?

Q: What heater (brands, etc) would you suggest I purchase for the tank I choose?

Q: Some people say that the minimum size of a tank is 5 gallons for a Betta (on other sites), is this a rumor or is it true?
Pipsqueak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 02:20 PM   #2 
Skyewillow

Welcome, fellow Michigander!!

Q1: Sometimes kritter keepers are cheap and great for a limited space, but they sometimes make the same sizes in glass (which I feel are a little more durable)

Q2: Heaters depend mostly on how much your water needs to be heated, but I do recommend the adjustables over the pre-set thermostats. Some illnesses (like ich) you need to turn the heat up to a certain temp which isn't good for normal every day, and the pre-sets can't do that. Hydor is a good brand.