Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 12-22-2009, 09:35 PM   #1 
3ltonWorri3s

Red face Bigger Tank

Okay, I'm looking for a bigger tank. I'm a beginner with fish so I need a little help finding what is best for my male betta.

The closest pet store around is Petsmart, so I have a few affordable tanks pick out there.

One: http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...291&lmdn=Price
That would be the 1 gal. tank.

Two: There's also a bowl that's probably about 1.5 gal. They don't have a picture on their site, but it's just an open top.

Three: http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...6&ab=fish_fc1a

Also, I'm going to get some live plants. Which ones are best for betta?

Thanks for any help in advance!!
3ltonWorri3s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 11:06 PM   #2 
SaylorKennedy

Well, the third link isn't the tank, it's a replacement light. Eclipse's are a little more expensive than some options you have. If I had to choose between the tank or the 1.5 gallon bowl, I'd take the 2 gallon one in the first link.
I'd go with a bigger tank if you can. I know petsmart has 2.5 gallon glass tanks and you could get a lid as well for not that much. Otherwise, I'd suggest getting a 5 gallon or even 10 gallon kit from Walmart, they're like $30 - $40 and it would be much easier in the long run since you could cycle it and would only have to do partial water changes instead of 100% every couple of days with the smaller ones.
Here's links to look at as a suggestion as well.
http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...ductId=2753107
and this one would be really good if you're tight on space
http://www.petsmart.com/product/inde...ductId=3804454

I'm not really good with plants, so I'll leave that to someone else, but I do know that anything under 2.5 gallons you will probably have a hard time with plants as they would take up some of the swimming space.