Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-02-2010, 04:15 PM   #1 
emeraldin

Talking water testing kits/stips, and other cycling/setup questions

Hi everyone,

I'm completely new to the fish world. Quite a few weeks ago I was at a pet store buying supplies for my cats, and it broke my heart to see all these lethargic Betta fishes in tiny plastic containers, which led me to the idea of getting one of my own. I asked an employee about their care and needs, and she said nothing much needed to be done. I didn't take her word for it, so didn't buy a fish right away. Instead I went home and researched the topic for weeks.

I think my shopping list for setting up and cycling my aquarium is ready, except for the water testing equipment. I just can't narrow it down to the most accurate yet convenient kit being the best value. It seems to me that when starting up one may require a lot of testing. I thought maybe I could get a recommendation from you out there with experience.
The one thing I've come across that seems very useful and convenient is the Seachem Ammonia Alert. Then for the rest, is it better to get strips that check everything at once or individual parameters? What brands give the best yet easiest readings?

I have to say that I'm very excited about starting up but a little nervous about cycling the water and getting it exactly right. I know I want fishless cycling; I'm absolutely not going to sacrifice "starter" fishes to establish my tank. Is it wise to use the shrimp method? Although I am thinking to try out first with Aquarium Pharmaceuticals Stress Zyme, despite the fact that these starter products have mixed reviews.

Please feel free to comment and suggest on the following: