Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Bowls, Habitats, and Accessories
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-03-2010, 01:23 PM   #1 
robbo87

Noob advice

ok so im currently cylcing my tank (fishless...) and i was thinking about possibly starting with a betta as this is my first attempt at keeping anything heated. i was looking at neons but have been advised that these are better in mature tanks...

its a 20 litre tank, with a heater, interpet pf1 filter and a plant in the corner... would the filter cause a problem for a betta? and also whats an ideal temp for them? and if i did get one also whats a good all round food for them? and as the tank will be possibly still cycling when i get him, what do i do about water changes?

hope this isnt to many questions!

regards
martin
robbo87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 01:33 PM   #2 
1fish2fish

Ok.. let me see if I can answer everything.

Bettas will do good in a new tank.

The filter may or may not aggravate your betta. It depends on their personality... but there are ways to buffer the flow of any filter.

A good food is Hikari Bio-Gold Betta pellets. But make sure you supplement occasionally with frozen blood worms or brine shrimp and freeze dried blood worms for a treat.

You probably shouldn't get him until your tank is done cycling.. because you'll need at least a 1 gallon tank to keep him in until its cycled. But if you choose to get him before get a 1 gallon tank or kritter keeper or even a plastic storage tub (that will be the cheapest option). Do water changes every other day of at least 50% and make sure you fully clean the gravel in the little tank (if you put gravel in there) at least once a week.

Make sure you put lots of plants and a cave or two in your tank as bettas like to hide and sleep in their plants and caves.