Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-07-2010, 12:45 AM   #1 
purplegirl

water changes with/without betta in tank?

I'm very new to the pet fish arena!(smile). Our last gold fish in the 1.5 gallon tank we have, died after 6 days despite much water testing and much adjusting. So, told the Betta's were more hardy, we now have one and after 3 days, he's still looking good. I am monitoring the various levels in this small tank, and noticed the nitrite is rising to what the test strip shows as a light pink color, but indicates"stress". The current ph is in the 7.2 range(more red than orange in color). The ammonia level is fine according to a separate test strip. I want to do a partial water change, I guess about 25%, and have the self-suctioning tube. My questions: 1. do I leave the betta in there while I do this? does this stress him out? Does it stress him more to remove him to a holding tank while I do this?
Also, I have an aponogetum(? sp). plant in there that's doing well, and hopefully helping with the cycling. Given it's small size, do you know how long it will take before I start to see a rise in the nitrate to break down the nitrite? Currently it reads as the color whitish,yellow, which is little no none.
Thanks so much. I've enjoyed reading and learning from the previous posts.
purplegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 12:51 AM   #2 
dr2b

I think it's going to be hard to cycle a 1.5 gallon tank. In a tank that small, you need to be doing 100% water changes at least twice a week. Ammonia can build up quickly. And actually, bettas should be kept in 2.5 gallons or lager. Another thing you need to watch with such a small tank is temperature. They get cold much easier than larger tanks, and they are hard to heat. It should be kept at 76 to 82 degrees.
dr2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2010, 07:58 AM   #3 
BettaxFishxCrazy