Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Other Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-24-2014, 03:05 AM   #1 
MI3

Whiptail catfish

I was just wondering if anyone could shed any light on to why my whiptail (The General) died today? :(

We have had him for 12 days and he was a happy little chap until yesterday he was looking pale.

He shared a tank with two electric yellow tangs and neon tetras. We fed them tropical flakes and once or twice a week, micro worms.
All water testing are at correct levels and the temp is at 26.C.
I know he eats algae but we had quite a large algae content in the tank and we were given an algae block to help prevent a larger build up.

I am new to fish keeping and this is probably a really stupid question but did this poison him?? I figured it would be safe to use seeing as it was recommended to us by our LFS.
Apart from our bettas, The General was my pride and joy
Attached Images

Last edited by MI3; 02-24-2014 at 03:17 AM.
MI3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 05:17 AM   #2 
eatmice2010

Hello, I am sorry for your loss. I too currently have a whiptail cat fish.

It is common to here this happening, before i bought my little guy, read that mystery deaths are common. There are people that said they've had theres for a couple of months and they die.

From what I've read they need wood and a mature NPT.
eatmice2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 07:38 AM   #3 
lilnaugrim
Reference Team

Wait, I think I might be confused? Yellow Tangs are saltwater or unless there is some unknown type of fish that I haven't heard about that is freshwater? Neons are definitely freshwater....what kind of tank is this? lol I'm probably reading something wrong or...yeah, no sure.