Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-25-2010, 06:36 AM   #1 
Artarmon

So I am new to being a betta owner- Afforadble options?

Hello, my father recently moved to a different city and so he could not take his Betta fish with him. She is a female, and i'm not sure what sub-classification she would be.
Only, when he had them he had been keeping the fish in a small vase type thing that looked like a wine flute.
Reading through this forum I decided I would get a larger bowl for it, so hopeully it would thrive. I purchased a small bowl for her (it is about ten times larger than what she was in before) and some plants for the bowl. This alone was very pricey for me =S

I want my fish to thrive, but I don't have a lot of money to spend on things for her, is there any affordadble options?
I am a university student and so am always very short on cash.
Artarmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 07:06 AM   #2 
kuklachica

Hello and welcome! Congratulations on your fish and thank you for looking for information to care for her properly!

She will need preferably 2.5 gallons of water (but DEFINITELY not less than 1 gallon). You can easily do this by getting a clear storage container from some place like Walmart (or you might already have one!). Many people use plastic storage boxes to house their bettas. To find how many gallons just multiply width x length x height then find an online volume calculator and convert cubic inches to liquid gallons. You can also buy a cheap kritter keeper like the one here (but make sure you check how many gallons they are first!) http://www.petco.com/product/12031/L...t=OnSiteSearch.

The pet store sell inexpensive gravel and decorations/plants and you shouldn't need too many.