Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-27-2010, 12:02 PM   #1 
vaygirl

So Kilo has Ich

I'm totally new to sick fish. She only has one small dot on her dorsal that looks like a grain of salt or sugar. I was going to add salt to her tank (1 tbsp per 5 gallons?) and crank the temp up. She's at 82 now. Can I get her up to 84 safely? For now that's all I think I want to do. I don't want to over-med her or stress her out even more. Does this sound okay to you guys? I'm worried. I have zero experience with sick fishies. :(
vaygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 05:31 PM   #2 
dramaqueen
Banned

I think she'll be fine at 84.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 09:28 PM   #3 
veganchick

84 is good if she is already used to 82. Keep her water crystal clean, and add a pinch of aquarium salt. See where it goes from there and keep us updated! good luck!
veganchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 11:04 AM   #4 
vaygirl

This morning the white spot is almost gone and all that's left is a little pinhole in his (yeah, he's a he now. :D) dorsal fin. I guess it's in the 'we're in your aquarium' phase. I'll keep you updated. I did the 1 tbsp per 5 gallons thing with aquarium salt.

The only other question I have is, if I do his 20% water change today, do I add the amount of salt appropriate to 1 and a half gallons into the new water? 3/4 of a teaspoon? Or do I not add anymore salt?
Old 01-29-2010, 12:28 PM   #5 
vaygirl

He's still doing fine. No white spots at all. The pinhole is almost gone. I changed his water this morning and added only enough salt for what I took out. I'm going to phase the salt out next week. He's living in tea water now because of his driftwood. It's like his own spa. :D