Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Diseases and Emergencies
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-28-2010, 08:44 PM   #1 
lafaye247

Betta Rescue....Question

Hey everybody! I'm going to give a little background info on my story....

A teacher supply store near me (I'm a teacher) had bettas in TINY containers for sale at the beginning of the year. I didn't buy one, but several were purchased for the front office and several other teachers bought one. Well, after I got a betta for home (not from the teacher store) and fell in love with him, I decided to help the pitiful ones at school that were in nasty water....probably less than 2 cups of water total in the tiny container. So, I bought some 1 gallon aquariums with under gravel filters for them. I know 1 gallon is not ideal, but it is better than what they had....and they don't have room for four 5 gallon aquariums in the office. The ones in the office are doing so much better now!!! They have pretty colors now and seem to be enjoying having some room to swim

After I fixed up those fish, one of the teachers gave me money to get her betta (that was living in the same kind of TINY container) a one gallon aquarium. I put her fish, Swimmy, in the aquarium and noticed a few things...this is where my questions start. I noticed that his fins are all clamped together and kind of ragged on the bottom...I'm thinking fin rot. So I put some aquarium salt in the water and have changed over half the water the last two days (I just got the fish two days ago). I tried to tell her what she needed to do to help him, but she told me to keep him and doctor him up. So...hopefully the salt and water changes will help him with that. Anything else I should do?? He does not have a heater....I don't think she's willing to spend the money on one either, so i'll have to work with what I have.