Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Betta Fish Care
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 01-29-2010, 08:22 PM   #1 
MadameMisfit

Too aggressive

Hello! This is my first time posting here, I hope you can help me.

My betta, Ivan, has become very aggressive lately. When I first got him a couple months back in September, he was very calm and happy. He would follow my finger around if it was close to the glass and be soo cute!

Now, at the slightest movement he flares up! Everytime he focuses on something - it could be the food sitting behind him or the pencils on my desk - he feels threatened by it. He had also taken to swimming head first into the sides of the bowl. :/

The only thing I can think of that might have shaken him is the fact that we've just moved around a lot going home from school and back. Is there any way that I can try to calm him down?

:[
MadameMisfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 09:58 PM   #2 
MollyJean

If he gets over stressed and you think it's effecting his health, turn off his lights and leave him alone and quiet for a while whenever get gets bad. Also, test your levels and make sure his temp is good (76-82). It is probably just moving back and forth like that that's riled him up.

Can I ask how big his tank is, what and how often you feed him, if you use water conditioner, and how often you clean out his tank? If there is another reason, aside from moving stress, this might help target it.
MollyJean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 10:31 PM   #3 
MadameMisfit