Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Breeding Betta Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 02-06-2010, 04:07 PM   #1 
JamieTron

Diet question for fry

Hrm to my dismay I found out that the petstores in my new area do not carry brine shrimp cysts and they will order them but for 50 bucks a big huge can, which I don't think I want to invest in right away as this is my first time spawning.

SO I want to buy a microworm culture instead online because they are cheap and look easy to grow

I have found I can grow infusuria now for the first week (yay I did it!) lol but after that....

I have one small vile or brine shrimp cysts from before I moved, could I mix the diet for the fry like one meal brine shrimp and the next worms? or brine shrimp every few days or something? Would this be acceptable?

the pet store tried to sell me flakes and frozen food...I told them I won't accept non live food for my fry.
JamieTron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 03:13 AM   #2 
dman

i have the same problem T_T
dman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 03:40 AM   #3 
DefyingGravity

I've read that it is good to mix the food for the fry, so they don't become picky when they are older, and ensures they get the nutrition they need, but I'm not 100% sure, having never tried it, or even had any fry as yet.
DefyingGravity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 08:49 AM   #4 
dramaqueen
Banned

I don't think there would be any problem with mixing the food. It might be healthier for the fry to have a varied diet.
dramaqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:29 PM   #5 
puppyrjjkm

Has anyone used Hikari First Bites? That's the only fry food they sell here. I know you couldn't use it until like week 6 or something... just curious.
puppyrjjkm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:45 PM   #6 
DragonFish

Quote:
Originally Posted by puppyrjjkm View Post