Betta Fish Care  
Go Back   Betta Fish and Betta Fish Care > Other Fish
Check out the eBook Betta Fish Care Made Easy
betta fish

Old 03-31-2014, 10:48 PM   #1 
Blue Fish

Setting up a 20g tall community...anyone want to check out my list?

Okay, I'm new to community tanks...I've kept bettas for years and we had goldfish when I was a child...but all the rest of the fish options are not something I've experienced before.
But...my cousin wants me to help her stock and get set up for a community tank for her three kids, ages from a little over a year to seven.

I plan to set her up with a 30 gallon filter (can't currently remember the name of it...) and a good-sized sponge filter as a backup. The tank is a 20g tall and will probably be all silk plants just to make her life easier.

According to AqAdvisor and my own research, these fish in these numbers are going to work...
2 mystery snails (the fairly bright colors and how they slide around is fun for little kids to watch)
12 ghost shrimp (because they are feeder shrimp and come by the dozen...and I need someone in there to clean off the bottom of the tank)
5 cherry barbs (I read they were less aggressive than the other barbs, and their color is bright)
5 harlequin rasboras (small and schooling which is nice)
4 panda corys (will these work with the shrimp?)
2 male platys (because of their bright color and I read they are okay to be in singles/no schooling)

I'm avoiding live bearers and anything that's likely to breed because I DON'T want to deal with that with the kids. I need a set number of fish, no more, lol!
Is this overstocked? It seems like kind of a lot of fish...but I'm used to a world of one betta in a 10 gallon tank, lol! :)

I'm looking for color, movement, and something going on at pretty much all levels of the tank.

Any suggestions, information, all is very welcome and appreciated!
I'm a total newbie at this and I've been researching but the opinions of others with experience is also always valuable. :)